JESS CORNELIUS Shares new single & video ‘Body Memory’

by the partae
JESS CORNELIUS Shares new single & video 'Body Memory'
Los Angeles-based musician Jess Cornelius releases a new single/video, ‘Body Memory,’ from her debut album, Distance, out July 24th via Part Time Records / Remote Control. It follows the Roy Orbison tinged rave-up, ‘Kitchen Floor.’ On ‘Body Memory,‘ the last song she wrote for the record, Cornelius intones over a calming electro-rhythm “When we met I used to make you laugh/then we lost the baby and it broke my heart,” adding later: “My body has a memory and it won’t forget.” Its accompanying video, the second she’s made since the start of the pandemic lockdown, was created by Cornelius and her partner and filmed on an iPhone at Lake Isabella, California. Cornelius elaborates on the video:

“Originally I had a much more elaborate, narrative-based concept, where I was this woman running away from a cult, (hence the tracksuit and Nikes), to be filmed in Oildale and Posey where my partner, Joe, is fixing up an old cabin. At the last minute, we decided to drive to Lake Isabella because of supposed good visuals there. I was grumbling all the way there about how the location wouldn’t fit with my shot list, but when we got there and I started dancing on rocks, we just threw away the shot list and made it up as we went along. The editing was fun because I’m teaching myself Premiere Pro (thanks YouTube tutorials) and I got to throw every hilarious video effect at it. We were also heavily influenced by Laraaji’s videos, obviously.”

Cornelius first began writing the songs that would comprise Distance after moving from Melbourne, Australia to Los Angeles. At the time, she was excited to start fresh after several years as the primary songwriter in the band Teeth and Tongue. But the distance she addresses over the album is hardly a geographical one. The journey over Distance is a celebration of newness. New beginnings and new perspectives on endings. From the chaos of a vagabond lifestyle to expecting a child just weeks before the albums’ release and researching how to tour as a mother in the coming years.

While the sonic tones and textures on the album evoke certain classic staples of Americana, soul and rock and roll, Cornelius’ lyrics anchor the songs to a deeply personal place. She sings of a miscarriage, a messy romantic affair, and the frustrations that come with having a partner. Distance finds a deft songwriter analyzing the space between society’s expectations for her and her own dreams, the illusion of love and the reality of disappointment, and a past she is ready to let go of and a future she could have hardly imagined.

Pre-order / pre-save Jess Cornelius – Distance:

Jess Cornelius – Distance

1. Kitchen Floor
2. No Difference
3. Body Memory
4. Easy for No One
5. Here Goes Nothing
6. Born Again
7. Palm trees
8. Banging My Head
9. Street Haunting
10. Love and Low Self Esteem

Jess Cornelius – Distance is out Friday 24 July via Part Time Records / Remote Control.

You may also like

Leave a Comment