Ozzy Osbourne Releases Anxiously Awaited New Album ‘Patient Number 9’

by the partae


Photo Credit: Ross Halfin

“Patient Number 9 as far as I’m concerned is the best record Osbourne has released since 2001’s Down to Earth.” – Everblack Media

“Was it worth the wait? Fuck yes it was.” – Heavy Magazine

“The Prince of Darkness rides again on Patient Number 9, and it’s a regal adventure from start to finish courtesy of a once-in-a-lifetime talent (and some prodigious friends).” – The Soundcheck

“This album delivers the Prince Of Darkness back to his throne.” – HiFi Way

“…this is pretty much his best effort in decades.” – Loud Online

“Even with the plethora of artists who are all stars in their own right, one thing is for certain — this is Ozzy Osbourne. With thirteen tracks to choose from, there’s more than enough meaty goodness to sink your teeth into.” – Wall Of Sound

“This album is 61 minutes of pure Ozzy bloody Osbourne, long time fans have got so much familiarity to enjoy, new fans have got a smorgasbord of killer intros to just what makes the Prince of Darkness such a God amongst men.” – Hear2Zen

“Ozzy is back! … delivering some amazing strong vocals.” – Amnplify

“… the overall result being the most enjoyable Ozzy solo album since, well, 1991’s high watermark No More Tears.” – Sentinel Daily

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee and Grammy®-winning singer and songwriter Ozzy Osbourne proudly presents his anxiously awaited new album, Patient Number 9, out now via Epic Records / Sony Music Australia.

He celebrated its arrival with a powerhouse performance during the Halftime Show of the Los Angeles Rams-Buffalo Bills NFL Kickoff Game last week at Sofi Stadium in Los Angeles, CA. Additionally, he joined forces with SiriusXM for Ozzy Osbourne’s ‘Patient Number 9’ Album Special on Ozzy’s Boneyard. Ozzy, legendary guitarist Zakk Wylde, and album producer Andrew Watt spoke to host Billy Morrison at-length about the new record in addition to performing select cuts and answering questions by SiriusXM hosts and subscribers.

Right out of the gate, Patient Number 9 has incited unanimous critical applause. Consequence of Sound proclaimed, “From start to finish, Patient Number 9 is an inspired and consistent Ozzy studio offering, and Metal Hammer rated it “4-out-of-5 Stars” and attested, “It sounds like the Prince of fucking Darkness having an absolutely smashing time, with a bunch of his mates and, weirdly, a newfound sense of artistic ambition. The Guardian also scored it “4-out-of-5 Stars, while Revolver Magazine assured, “this heavy-metal patient only sounds recharged, not ready for any farewells or swan songs just yet.

Between the singles Patient Number 9 [feat. Jeff Beck], Degradation Rules [feat. Tony Iommi], and Nothing Feels Right [feat. Zakk Wylde], the album has already eclipsed 10 million total streams and counting.

The new album marks the first release since Osbourne’s critically acclaimed, worldwide, chart-topping 2020 album Ordinary Man. Produced by Andrew Watt (who handled the same duties on Ordinary Man), the new album marks Osbourne’s 13th solo studio album. It’s heavy, it’s hard-hitting, it’s historic–it’s everything you’d want from an Ozzy Osbourne record and maybe more. Working with producer Watt for the second time, Ozzy welcomed dynamic A-list featured guests. For the first time ever, Black Sabbath co-founder, guitarist, and riff-master Tony Iommi appears on an Ozzy solo album. The record also boasts guitarists Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton, Mike McCready of Pearl Jam, and longstanding righthand man and six-string beast Zakk Wylde who plays on the majority of the tracks. For the bulk of the album, Chad Smith of Red Hot Chili Peppers held down drums, while the late Taylor Hawkins of Foo Fighters appears on three songs. Old friend and one-time OZZY band member Robert Trujillo of Metallica plays bass on most of the album’s tracks, with Duff McKagan of Guns N’ Roses and Chris Chaney of Jane’s Addiction supplying bass on a few songs.


01. Patient Number 9 (feat. Jeff Beck)
02. Immortal (feat. Mike McCready)
03. Parasite (feat. Zakk Wylde)
04. Mr. Darkness (feat. Zakk Wylde)
05. One of Those Days (feat. Eric Clapton)
06. A Thousand Shades (feat. Jeff Beck)
07. No Escape From Now (feat. Tony Iommi)
08. Nothing Feels Right (feat. Zakk Wylde)
09. Evil Shuffle (feat. Zakk Wylde)
10. Degradation Rules (feat. Tony Iommi)
11. Dead and Gone
12. God Only Knows
13. Darkside Blues



You may also like

Leave a Comment