INTRODUCING ELMO AOYAMA (Synth, bass and vocals in Sydney guitar-pop band Big White) DEBUT SINGLE ‘SUMMERTIME’ IS OUT NOW

by the partae
INTRODUCING ELMO AOYAMA (Synth, bass and vocals in Sydney guitar-pop band Big White) DEBUT SINGLE 'SUMMERTIME' IS OUT NOW

Introducing Sydney-based artist Elmo Aoyama and her debut single ‘Summertime’.

Listen here.

Out now on the ‘Stay Inside: Songs from the Great Indoors’ compilation and set to appear on Elmo’s debut EP, Spells (out later this year on Dinosaur City Records), ‘Summertime’ was recorded by Aoyama at her home studio in the Blue Mountains of NSW, and mixed and mastered by Snowy (The Ocean Party/Snowy Band).

While Aoyama is best-known as synth-player, bassist and singer in much-loved Sydney band Big White who have released two highly acclaimed albums and one EP on Spunk Records/Caroline and Burger Records (USA), ‘Summertime’ is the first taste of her new namesake synth-pop project.

Taking inspiration musically from the likes of The Knife, Dirty Three, Yann Tiersen, YMO, Miharu Koshi and Yosui Inoue, Elmo says “‘Summertime’ is the longing one gets after a short glimpse of the other side. It’s the bittersweet taste of paradise nestled beyond diplomatic confusion.

“It was the beginning of Spring and the end of a tour. The water was warm, the surf was flat, it felt easy to swim one or two kilometres out into the ocean. Gazing to the north you could see faint shapes of a land in the distance. That land was Turkey. The shore behind was Lapithos, Cyprus. I swam back and got on a bus with some of my closest friends. Summertime was written in my head on that bus.” Elmo continues.

April has drawn to a close, and thus ends ‘Stay Inside: Songs from the Great Indoors‘. 37 songs in total were contributed to the compilation, all written, recorded or ‘finally finished’ by artists over the past months of isolation and social distancing. Spanning a variety of genres and production methods, the compilation in its entirety serves as a bittersweet timestamp of this strange period, and a celebration of creativity and community in times of chaos.

‘Stay Inside: Songs from the Great Indoors‘ was brought to you by local labels Osborne Again, Dinosaur City Records, Spunk Records, Blossom Rot Records, Hotel Motel and Inertia Music and mastered by Snowy. Artists who submitted songs include Dianas, Annie Hamilton, Snowy Band, e4444e Cool Sounds, Chakra Efendi, Navy Gangs and Emma Russack, with 100% of the proceeds being evenly distributed between all contributors – many of whom have suffered financial loss as a result of these trying times.

While the compilation is now out in its entirety, it’s not too late to support ‘Stay Inside: Songs from the Great Indoors’. Receive 37 tracks for $5 with 100% of proceeds going directly to the artists here.

Keep up to date with Dinosaur City Records via our websiteInstagram and Facebook.

You may also like

Leave a Comment