HXXS debut EP MKDRONE out now!

by the partae

After their recent signing to esteemed label Captured Tracks, California’s HXXS are happy to release their debut EP MKDRONE out now on vinyl and digitally.

Last month the band shared first single ‘Seppuku’the historical Japanese term for suicide by disembowelment, which came to fruition when prescription medication became the only reprieve for an inoperable tooth infection that had one member sliding between unbearable pain and prescription-induced euphoria. Watch the video below.

HXXS are the duo of Jeannie Colleene and Gavin Neves. They got their start in a cramped San Jose warehouse, sharing a wall with a porn studio. Despite their vocal takes periodically interrupted by even louder and harsher vocal takes echoing in the halls, MKDRONE soon came together.  HXXS live somewhere between the uncomfortable and the alluring. Their live show, which consists of any hardware they can get their hands on – drum machines, synthesizers, samplers – is built on loops, making the songs feverish and at times deliberately frenzied to a point of anxiety. However the duo anesthetize this angst with more subdued nods to electronic and post-punk acts of the 80’s, 90’s, 00’s and present.

Purchase / Stream HXXS – MKDRONE EP: HXXS.lnk.to/MKDRONE


1. Seppuku
2. Witch Hunt
3. Vices
4. Dripping Mercury
5. Trippin



You may also like

Leave a Comment