by the partae
YesYou - Reveal Tranquil New EP 'This Is Passion Pt.1 (edit)'


YesYou blending some class production with that warm and floaty vocal melody. Feels like an intro to a day at the beach.” – 4/5 stars
Dave Ruby Howe  triple j Unearthed (AUS)

“This is some laid back soul that’s got me in a real nice mood. there’s just a bit of trip hop to that production and otherwise it’s just got that vintage, classic feel. smart stuff!.” – 4/5 stars
Declan Byrne – triple j (AUS)

“Complimented by the richness in the accompanying instrumentation of lush pianos that add plenty of character to the mix.”
– Acid Stag (AUS)

Brisbane-based electronic-soul group YesYou have just unveiled their hypnotic new EP ‘This Is Passion Pt.1 (edit)’, featuring edits off the original nine-track mixtape, as well as remixes from Brisbane’s Spare Time Collective.

‘This Is Passion Pt.1 (edit)’ is six tracks of sophisticated electronic soul, filled with blissful instrumentals and feel-good vocals. The EP showcases the groups expert layering and gorgeous textures, culminating in a fulfilling manner from start to finish.

YesYou talks about the process behind ‘This Is Passion Pt.1 (edit)’:

“At the beginning of 2016, we started to realise we’d lost sight of why we started the project and it stopped being fun. We’d been in the studio five days a week for the last three years and getting bogged down in making music we thought people wanted to hear. We’d lost ourselves in overthinking each second of every song.”

“We gave away ‘This is Passion Pt.1’ mixtape in October, which featured nine records we’d been sitting on since 2015. Putting it out was the therapy that we needed and pushed us to finish a few more demes.  The result being ‘This is Passion Pt.1 (edit), which features some edit’s off the mixtape and a few new records.”

Opener ‘This Is Passion (intro)’ combines hypnotic guitars and a dream-like dialogue, beginning the EP in an idyllic way, leaving the listener wanting more. Up next is lead single ‘So Real’, driven by the captivating vocals of Damon Truiett and a smooth rhythmic section.

Third track ‘Losing My Touch’ is co-written by Marcus Azon (Jinja Safari) and opens with bouncing percussion and sun-soaked vocals, building towards a wholly satisfying ending. While track four ‘Pray For Me (Only One)’ is driven by velvety baselines and mellow guitar chords, it is capped off with dream-like vocals and explores blissful acoustics and strings.

This leads into ‘How You Feel (Wanna Dance)’, which opens with distant vocals and soft bongo’s, before the introduction of groove-laden guitar chords and compelling melodies. Closer ‘Something Special’ finishes the EP off with an upbeat slice of disco, moving between jazz instrumentals and serene synths, completing a fitting end to this collection.

Previous releases have been widely embraced by worldwide tastemaker blogs Consequence of Sound (USA), Clash Magazine (UK), The Line Of Best Fit (UK), Beautiful Buzzz (USA), EARMILK (USA), Stereofox (DEU) and Acid Stag. They’ve also received support from Australian radio stations triple jFBi3RRR4ZZZ2RRRBay FMTriple H and Radio Adelaide.

YesYou are currently working with Sydney-based designer Kris Andrew Small, who has worked with the likes of NikeSony MusicIt’s Nice ThatAdidasDazed and The Presets to create a 24-page zine to accompany the first mixtape. This comes in addition to working with Brisbane collective Spare Time who mixed and mastered the project, as the pair focus on building more of a community around them.

YesYou began in 2010 out of their parents’ bedroom and in 2011 released their first single ‘Half of It‘ which went onto to be the 11th most played song on triple j that year. Over the coming years, the group went onto support the likes of Rufus Du SolMidnight Juggernauts and Neon Indian. While working with Jordan Rakei (Ninja Tune), Noah Slee (Majestic Casual), Michael Marshall (Timex Social Club) and Damon Trueitt (FKJ, Todd Edwards) the group landed 4 top 5 Hype Machine releases with 2017’s ‘Change is Going to Come’ hitting number one.

‘This Is Passion Pt.1 (edit)’ is available worldwide now:

EP Track Listing

1. This Is Passion (intro)
2. So Real
3. Losing My Touch
4. Only One (Pray For Me)
5. How You Feel (Wanna Dance)
6. Something Special



You may also like

Leave a Comment