Nick Griffith shares 80’s-inspired video for single ‘Darling’, taken from debut album ‘7am’

by the partae
Nick Griffith shares 80's-inspired video for single 'Darling', taken from debut album '7am'
Photo by Sophie McComish
“Exploring the most abject corners of post-punk and 80s-inspired pop, 7am recalls Tom Tom Club and Orange Juice both in its sound and in its earnest, beautifully romantic lyricism. It’s a bold, warm-hearted debut.”
The Fader

“Australian multi-instrumentalist Nick Griffith tempers luxuriant yacht-pop arrangements with lo-fi touches across the sunny 7am.” 
– Bandcamp

“Every musical knick-knack of the record comes alive with this sense of personality, feeling as though it’s been playfully pieced together via its DIY recording into a curious, affectionate whole, from retro drum machines to op-shop purchased microphones and buzzing, analogue synths.”
– FBi Radio

“Nick’s contribution to Sydney music over the years and over many projects is demi-god level good. Any time he drops something new you know I’m listening.”  
– Dave Ruby Howe, triple j Unearthed

Nearly one year on from the release of debut album 7am (Dinosaur City Records), Illawarra-based artist Nick Griffith today shares a music video for track ‘Darling’. The video clip coincides with the announcement of a limited edition CD, due February 5 via DIY French label Safe in the Rain Records.

Buy/stream 7am here and watch the video for ‘Darling’ here.

‘Darling’ topped the Australian AMRAP charts upon release in March 2020 – thanks to its upbeat production dominated by synths, crunchy riffs and Nick’s unmistakable falsetto – and now comes with its very own video, directed by Sophie McComish (Body Type).

The new clip is inspired by ’80s and ’90s performance videos, and features Griffith “goofing around the house behind different, coloured sheets”. The scratchy, vivid output is reminiscent of videos by Pixies, Sonic Youth and Pavement, which saw high rotation on MTV back in the day.

Nick Griffith 7am track listing:

1. Riding On My Bike
2. Dreamweaver
3. Back and Forth
4. Broken
5. Darling
6. Fantasy
7. 7am
8. Drones in the Midnight Sky
9. I Wanna Dance A Lot
10. Goombaschoolday*

*Bonus track

Stream/buy 7am

7am is an abstract collection of tracks written, recorded, produced and performed by multi-instrumentalist Nick Griffith in his bedroom over the better half of a decade.

Of the record, Nick shares:

“7am is a collection of songs written over many years – some dating as far back as 2013. There was a time when I started putting them all together in my mind and they began to form an idea of an album. It was the use of similar approaches to achieving a sound; samples of retro drum machines and synths, and an op shop-purchased SingStar microphone with a Chux wipe used for a pop filter – and similar limitations in equipment leading to similar workarounds. The songs are stories from my early twenties and different representations of myself at different periods. Uncertainty, bewilderment and fatigue of a new world is the common thread of 7am.”

Nick Griffith catapulted into 2020 with the release of his debut album 7am. Upon release, the record was FBi Radio Feature Album (with Griffith cited as one of the most-played artists on the station in 2020 – and 2019), added to rotation on 2SER, received multiple plays from triple j and double j, was prompted by The Fader as one of “7 new albums you should stream right now” alongside The Weekend’s After Hours and J Balvin’s Colores, and nominated for the prestigious Australian Music Prize (AMP)Nick Griffith is in the process of finalising his sophomore album, due 2021 via Dinosaur City Records. Stay up to date by following Nick on Bandcamp.

Keep up to date with Dinosaur City Records releases and events:

You may also like

Leave a Comment