Lastlings Release New Single ‘Out Of Touch’ & Announce Six Shows For Fans In QLD

by the partae
Lastlings Release New Single 'Out Of Touch' & Announce Six Shows For Fans In QLD

With under a month left until the release of their anticipated debut album First Contact and following the announcement of a wave of shows in their home state of QLD, Australian-Japanese sibling duo Lastlings today share their newest single ‘Out Of Touch’.

The track is the final song to be revealed ahead of the release of the duo’s highly anticipated 12-track debut, landing on November 20. Lastlings have been perfecting the LP over the past year, and ‘Out of Touch’ is a testament to their masterful engineering of transportive lyricism and emotive pop soundscapes. A shimmering electro-pop jam, the song juxtaposes Amy’s delicate yet poignant vocals against Josh’s darker tech-driven basslines.

LISTEN: ‘Out Of Touch’ by Lastlings

“The majority of the lyrics for Out of Touch were written at our grandparents home in Japan. The song is about disconnecting from real life and spending time on yourself, especially at times where life becomes too much and you need to recharge. Self-care is so important, especially at times like this.

“The song is a bit of a full circle moment because the main guitar parts were written with Josh’s first guitar. The guitar melodies were inspired by ‘path of the wind’ by Joe Hisaishi from our favourite childhood animation ‘My Neighbour Totoro’. All of these things together make the song extremely nostalgic for us because it reminds us of when we were kids and simpler times.”

Last week, Lastlings announced shows for fans in Brisbane and the Gold Coast. First shows sold-out quickly with subsequent shows now also nearing capacity. The shows will see Lastlings take to the stage in full band mode, playing their new material to audiences for the first time yet.The band’s anticipated debut album First Contact (out on November 20) centralises around the theme of “firsts”. Each track harkens back to notable life milestones, from the first day of life, to the first spoken words, to the first experience of falling in love, through the last breath on Earth. The album is preceded by a trailer co-created by Lastlings’ and Sydney-based director Dylan Duclos, paying homage the duo’s Japanese heritage. Produced in Japan in their native language, the trailer weaves elements of Japanese landscapes and cultural touchpoints that take form throughout songs and visuals in First Contact. Check it out here.

The band’s previously released singles ‘No Time’‘Take My Hand’‘Last Breath’‘Deja Vu’, and ‘I’ve Got You’ have all received airplay from triple j and found a home on a myriad of Apple Music and Spotify playlists globally.

Final tickets available via
Saturday 21 November | The Triffid, Brisbane (early show) |  NEW SHOW
Saturday 21 November | The Triffid, Brisbane (late show) | SOLD OUT
Friday 4 December | Miami Marketta, Gold Coast (early show) | SOLD OUT
Friday 4 December | Miami Marketta, Gold Coast (late show) | NEW SHOW
Saturday 5 December | Miami Marketta, Gold Coast (early show) | SOLD OUT
Saturday 5 December | Miami Marketta, Gold Coast (late show) | SOLD OUT
First Contact

Album out 20 November 2020
through Liberation Records
Available to pre-order hereFirst Contact tracklisting: 
1. Deja Vu
2. Take My Hand
3. Out Of Touch
4. False Reactions
5. 9400
6. Last Breath
7. No Time
8. Visions
9. AI
10. Held Under
11. First Light
12. I’ve Got You


You may also like

Leave a Comment