by the partae
Australia’s pop princess Kylie Minogue has topped the ARIA Charts with her latest album DISCO debuting at #1 this week.

DISCO is Kylie’s seventh #1 album in Australia, and her third in as many years, following Golden in 2018 and Step Back In Time in 2019. It firmly cements her status as Australia’s highest selling female artist, holding the record for the most ARA #1 albums by an Australian female artist, and 80 million albums sold worldwide.

DISCO has also topped the charts in the UK, setting a new chart record as Kylie becomes the first female artist to score a UK #1 album in five consecutive decades.

DISCO came in at #9 on the New Zealand chart, which is Kylie’s highest chart position in New Zealand since 2001’s Fever.

Mushroom Group chairman Michael Gudinski is thrilled to see Kylie achieve another #1 album. “Kylie signed to Mushroom when she was 18 and I couldn’t be prouder to be part of her continuing success. It is a testament to what an incredible artist Kylie is. Her passion and work ethic to make this album through COVID shows her commitment. As Kylie herself said to me, “it’s hard yakka but I’m so committed to this, and I miss Australia.””

DISCO has received praise from critics across the globe, as Kylie returns to her disco roots.

“… There’s something charmingly freeing in the earnest joyfulness of this record, like the first hints of a rainbow after the clouds have parted.” – Sydney Morning Herald

“Minogue delivers a simple message of hope on an album that provides non-stop dancefloor kicks.” – The Music

“Kylie’s disco revival is just what the nation needs” – The Telegraph

For DISCO, Kylie worked with longtime collaborator Biff Standard plus Sky Adams (with whom she worked with on Golden), Teemu Brunila (David Guetta, Jason Derulo) and Maegan Cottone (Iggy Azalea, Demi Lovato), alongside others. The album was largely recorded in lockdown with each team member recording and working from a separate location, leading to Kylie having a vocal engineering credit on all but two of the sixteen tracks on the record.
Kylie Minogue – Australian #1 albums to-date

  • Light Years (2000)
  • Fever (2001)
  • X (2007)
  • Kiss Me Once (2014)
  • Golden (2018)
  • Step Back In Time: The Definitive Collection (2019)
  • DISCO (2020)
Kylie Minogue

Album out now
through Liberator Music/BMG
Available to buy/stream here

DISCO tracklisting:
1. Magic
2. Miss A Thing
3. Real Groove
4. Monday Blues
5. Supernova
6. Say Something
7. Last Chance
8. I Love It
9. Where Does The DJ Go?
10. Dance Floor Darling
11. Unstoppable
12. Celebrate You
13. Till You Love Somebody (Bonus Track)
14. Fine Wine (Bonus Track)
15. Hey Lonely (Bonus Track)
16. Spotlight (Bonus Track)



You may also like

Leave a Comment