FUTURE ISLANDS share new single & video ‘Moonlight’

by the partae
FUTURE ISLANDS share new single & video 'Moonlight'

Third song from As Long As You Are out Oct 9
Tickets for global livestream concert on sale now!

Today, Future Islands have shared ‘Moonlight’, the third new song from forthcoming album As Long As You Are out 9 October via 4AD / Remote Control Records. The song is paired with a video directed by Will Mayer (BADBADNOTGOOD) and starring Matthew Gray Gubler (Criminal Minds, 500 Days of Summer) and Callie Hernandez (La La Land, Alien).

Samuel T. Herring says of the song, “’Moonlight’ is a song about love in a depressive state. It’s about recognising the holes in ourselves and recognising the circular whole of others. ‘Moonlight’ is about acceptance because that’s what love allows us all. “I couldn’t see, I had a cloud in my arms, but if I asked you would you say, It’s only rain, nothing more.””

To coincide with the release of their sixth full-length album As Long As You Are, Future Islands will perform their only show of 2020 which will be livestreamed to Australian audiences on Saturday 10 October at 8PM AEST. The Baltimore group have been road warriors for over a decade, touring extensively every year without fail, but 2020 is the first year the band will not hit the road since 2008. Instead, for their 1,235th live show, the group will move online for a one-off global livestream event. ‘A Stream of You and Me’ will be filmed in Maryland and feature a bespoke one-off light show created by light artist Pierre Claude (The Strokes, Phoenix, Gesaffelstein). The broadcast will be directed by Michael Garber (Phoenix, Bon Iver, Kamasi Washington). For further details, and to purchase tickets, head to Handsome Tours.

As Long As You Are looks to the past as well as the future, confronting old ghosts and embracing a new hope. It is an album about trust, full of honesty, redemption and “letting go”, allowing old wounds to heal and bringing painful chapters to a close. The album features previously released singles ‘Thrill’ and ‘For Sure’. Signalling a new era for Future Islands, touring drummer Mike Lowry officially joins as a fully-fledged member and songwriter bolstering the founding trio of William Cashion, Samuel T. Herring and Gerrit Welmers. Together, the four-piece took on official production duties for the first time, co-producing As Long As You Are with engineer Steve Wright at his Wrightway Studios in Baltimore. Given time to allow the songs to slowly come to life, these 11 new songs of post wave synth-pop are as euphoric and uninhibitedly joyful as anything the band has done in their 14-year career.

As Long As You Are will be available digitally, on CD, standard black vinyl, petrol blue vinyl (4AD and indie stores only), fluorescent orange vinyl (band store only) and cassette (4AD Store, band store and US indies only). To pre-order, head to futureislands.ffm.to/aslongasyouare.

Future Islands – As Long As You Are is out Friday 9 October
via 4AD / Remote Control Records.

You may also like

Leave a Comment