DZ Deathrays Release New Single/Video ‘Make Yourself Mad’ + Announce ‘Positive Rising Grant’ Winners + Album Out Friday 9 July

by the partae
DZ Deathrays Release New Single/Video 'Make Yourself Mad' + Announce 'Positive Rising Grant' Winners + Album Out Friday 9 July
  • DZ Deathrays release new single/video ‘Make Yourself Mad’
  • The band are pleased to reveal the three winners of their Positive Rising Grant. Each winner has taken home 1 x Squier® guitar and amp plus a year’s worth of fortnightly online guitar classes
  • DZ have also just announced a new competition & the lucky winner + two of their friends will be treated to a home cooked meal by the band
  • Positive Rising Part 2 will be released Friday 9th July

I OH YOU are stoked to present ‘Make Yourself Mad’, the new single/video from DZ Deathrays and the fourth track to drop from their highly anticipated fifth studio album Positive Rising: Part 2, out Friday 9 July.

‘Make Yourself Mad’ is a raucous statement about the role we play in allowing social media or the media propaganda machine to boil our blood and seriously impact our mental wellbeing. In between heavy guitar riffs, singer Shane Parsons reckons with the sensation of opening an app or turning on the TV, knowing full well the way it’ll make him feel. ‘‌Get off the internet / Turn down the noise / No more 60 Minutes / Don’t let them have a voice … Reading a headline / Choosing your side / Miseducated they try to change your mind.’

Parsons reflects on ways to we can individually break the negative cycle, instead of being gluttons for punishment. “Sometimes the simplest answer to people getting frustrated by other people’s opinions is to just leave it alone. Remove yourself.”

WATCH: ‘Make Yourself Mad’ by DZ Deathrays

Before its release, DZ Deathrays released the chords and lyrics of ‘Make Yourself Mad’, urging fans and peers to upload their own interpretations of the song ahead of its debut. Melbourne duo Cry Club were among a flood of DZ fans who were quick to upload a cover of the track on Instagram, watch Cry Club’s version HERE.

The band are also pleased to reveal the three winners of their Positive Rising Grant; Damon (NT), Archer (NSW) and Ben (ACT), each of whom have taken home 1 x Squier® guitar and amp thanks to Fender, a year’s worth of fortnightly online guitar classes through The Artist Studio, a copy of DZ Deathrays albums Positive Rising: Part 1 and Positive Rising: Part 2 on vinyl and a limited-edition pack of DZ Deathrays guitar picks.

Ahead of the release of Positive Rising: Part 2 on July 9, DZ Deathrays have announced a new competition which is now open to enter via The winner of the comp and two of their friends will be treated to a very special home cooked meal, lovingly prepared by the band. In addition to having DZ Deathrays come to their home as private chefs (and guests) for the evening, the winner will take home a comprehensive merch pack including a copy of Positive Rising: Part 2  on vinyl.

‘Make Yourself Mad’ follows previous singles ‘Fired Up’‘All Or Nothing’ and ‘Fear The Anchor (feat. Ecca Vandal)’, which have been met with acclaim from fans and industry alike with adds to local and international rock playlisting on Spotify and Apple Music plus coverage from the likes of DIY Mag (UK), Upset Mag (UK), The Line Of Best Fit, Far Out Mag, Deadpress, Stereoboard, Rolling Stone AU, NME and triple j. ‘Fear The Anchor (feat. Ecca Vandal)’ was added to Amazing Radio (UK) and recently hit #16 on New Zealand’s national Rock Radio chart. ‘Fired Up’ and ‘All Or Nothing’ were added to rotation at triple j, both making it to the top 10 most played song on the station.

Positive Rising: Part 2 arrives in just under two months. Pre-order your copy today.

DZ Deathrays – ‘Make Yourself Mad’
Single out now through I OH YOU
Buy/stream hereDZ Deathrays – Positive Rising: Part 2
Album out Friday 9 July 2021
through I OH YOU
Pre-order here

Positive Rising: Part 2 tracklisting:
1. Skeleton Key
2. Fear The Anchor (feat. Ecca Vandal)
3. All Or Nothing
4. Kerosene
5. Fired Up
6. Riff City
7. Make Yourself Mad
8. Golden Retriever
9. Swept Up
10. Run The Red
11. Positive Rising


You may also like

Leave a Comment