DINNER Announces new album Dream Work, out October 22 Shares single & video ‘Midnight In My Head’

by the partae
DINNER Announces new album Dream Work, out October 22 Shares single & video 'Midnight In My Head'
Photo Credit: Anders Rhedin

Today Dinner aka Danish multi-instrumentalist Anders Rhedin has announced a new album titled Dream Work, a lush collection of synth and guitar-laden indie pop that expertly channels Ryuichi Sakamoto, early British indie, and the sound of water, due for release October 22, 2021 on Captured Tracks / Remote Control RecordsDream Work features vocal contributions from labelmates Molly Burch and Charlie Hilton as well as Lina Tullgren and Nicolai Koch. The album’s announcement is accompanied by a video for lead single ‘Midnight In My Head (ft. Charlie Hilton)‘ directed by Anne Tse, featuring lip syncing and perfectly interpretive choreography from the video’s star, Carly Johnson.

Anders Rhedin shares: “It felt natural to have someone else play out what they felt this song was about. I know what my personal vision of this song is, so it seemed more interesting to see someone else’s vision; to see Anna and Carly’s. Also, I’ve done so many Dinner videos featuring me and / or my face; I thought it’d be nice with a bit of variation.” 

Regarding the video, director Anne Tse has this to say: “Based off of the song’s dreamlike impression, it felt right to create an alternative world of movement to visualize Dinners music. Knowing Carly’s ability to translate artistic mediums into her own inspired us to use multiple locations, seamlessly connecting them through dance. It was a fun process to be trusted by Dinner, and to work with him and Carly to create this.”

Pre-order / pre-save Dinner – Dream Workhttps://dinner.ffm.to/dreamwork.opr

Dinner – ‘Midnight In My Head’ (Official Video)
Stream / Download: 

After a four-year hiatus exploring ambient and meditation music, Danish multi-instrumentalist Anders Rhedin has returned to his indie roots with Dream Work, his third album as Dinner.

Like most worthwhile pursuits, the path to Dream Work hasn’t been straight. Rhedin spent his 20s playing in bands in his native Copenhagen (including the indie pop group Choir of Young Believers) before relocating to LA to pursue pop songwriting, an enterprise which he considers “an unmitigated disaster.” From this disaster, however, came the genesis of the Dinner project, which saw Rhedin self-releasing cassettes of his solo music while splitting his time between Berlin, LA and Copenhagen. His irreverent synth-based avant-pop was enough to attract attention, and in 2014 Rhedin signed to Captured Tracks, moved to LA full-time, and released a series of full length projects including Three EPs (2015), Psychic Lovers (2016), and New Work (2017). Over this period he also toured the world with the likes of Mac Demarco, Sean Nicholas Savage, Prince Rama, and King Gizzard.

In tandem with the progression of DinnerRhedin was also honing another skill – channeling his long standing personal interest in meditation and Jungian techniques into ambient production and guided meditation. After the release of New Work, he took a step back from the Dinner project in order to explore these avenues more seriously – returning to Copenhagen in the process. Over the last few years, he’s released a series of ambient releases under his own name geared towards meditation, sleep, and relaxation. He’s also led live guided sound baths and meditations at art museums, churches, and rooftops all over the world.

The time away proved fruitful – returning to the Dinner project with fresh eyes, Rhedin sought not to reproduce his previous style, but rather to integrate these two components of his body of work. “I think I’ve been working more like a sculptor less like a builder,” he notes. “I’ve just been chipping away at ideas until a song was left. Not so much trying to build something spectacular. I didn’t know what I wanted to do, but I knew I didn’t want to go back to how Dinner sounded before making the ambient albums. I knew that I kind of wanted to turn the old Dinner sound inside out. To go into that sonic universe but deconstruct it and rebuild it.” As a result, Dream Work sounds at once classic and entirely new; a deft balance of Rhedin’s trademark electro-pop with the meditative and organic elements of his ambient work.

This delicate balance is also a reflection of the site of its creation – Rhedin recorded the album in Copenhagen during the fall/winter, almost exclusively at night: “I rented a small studio in the off-hours. So I sat there at night a lot. I’d walk around the empty streets for inspiration, have a coffee, and get to work. There’s something beautiful about the world at night. Everything’s quiet.” This sense of ease translates in the music – from the melancholy acoustic guitar and downtempo synth melody of ‘Spirit Voices‘ to the ethereal refrain on ‘Connection‘, Rhedin washes his pop songwriting in dark, dreamy textures. These textures lend cohesion to the far-reaching collection – Dinner effortlessly floats from Stereolab-like electric guitar (‘Anima‘) to twinkling synth-pop (‘Midnight In My Head‘) to fluid ambient (‘Drøm‘) in the span of just 34 minutes. Contributions from labelmates Molly Burch and Charlie Hilton as well as Lina TullgrenNicolai Koch help bolster this quality: much like Rhedin himself, Dream Work feels well-travelled even when it’s standing in place.

Though his influences may be vast in scope – ranging from Egyptian mythology to Japanese ambient to the experience of impending fatherhood (he recently welcomed his first child) – Rhedin is relatively uninterested in putting too much weight on intentions. “What I like about ambient is that it’s utilitarian. It serves a purpose….it’s not about ‘me’ as an auteur or about my life story. It’s about the listener’s experience. And we meet in that space somehow. We hang out in that space together.” More than any one sonic or lyrical element, this ethos is perhaps the most distinct marker between Dream Work and the previous Dinner catalog. Like a still reflection pool, we can only glimpse the depths by looking through ourselves.

Dinner – Dream Work

1. Midnight In My Head (ft. Charlie Hilton)
2. How We Talk (ft. Nikolai Koch)
3. Big Empty Sky (ft. Lina Tullgren)
4. Like You Said (ft. Charlie Hilton)
5. Anima
6. Connection (ft. Molly Burch)
7. Spirit Voices
8. Grateful (Best Shit)
9. Born Again
10. Drøm

Dinner – Dream Work is out October 22
via Captured Tracks / Remote Control
Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

You may also like

Leave a Comment