CIVIC releases debut LP ‘Future Forecast’, Victorian shows announced, Henry Rollins weighs in

by the partae
CIVIC releases debut LP 'Future Forecast', Victorian shows announced, Henry Rollins weighs in

“On Future Forecast, Civic’s first LP, they’ve added sophistication to their arrangements and songwriting without losing any of the in-your-face-ness of their previous work. Great guitar sounds. This is a really good record. Civic’s entire catalog is excellent” – Henry Rollins.


CIVIC have this morning released their debut album ‘Future Forecast’ .The album comes as a follow up to their highly sought after ‘New Vietnam’ EP (2018) and is their first major release through Flightless Records.  Listen to Future Forecast HERE.


Driving and tenacious, but never losing sight of a good hook and how to use it – CIVIC don’t tip-toe around the edges, but obliterate them with primal intensity. Finding a home somewhere between 80’s glam rock and Australia’s 70’s greats, they break the pieces of influence before crafting them into their own beast on ‘Future Forecast’.




Friday June 4th – The Croxton Bandroom – TIX HERE

Saturday June 5th – The Corner Hotel – TIX HERE

Sunday June 6th – Singing Bird Studio (all ages) – TIX HERE



Full Bio:


An origin story since time immemorial, the five piece came together in 2018 through the traps of the Melbourne music scene. Bonding over a shared love of tightly coiled riffs and a collective musical ethos, they channelled this into their first EP ‘New Vietnam’. In a head rush recording session, the 7 tracks were slammed out in a single day, with the underground hit going on to sell more than 1500 units worldwide. Making a name for themselves through the intensity of their live shows, their ‘New Vietnam’ launch would become one of those folklore moments within Melbourne. Taking to the stage with a contoured cheek and darkened eyes, McCullough’s glamoured stage presence beamed and boomed over the sold out crowd. Cutting through the scene with cult-like vigour, their garnered momentum would lead them to a string of sold out 7 inches, a European tour, a spot on the beloved Golden Plains Festival, a new found home on the revered Flightless Records, and a fan in punk icon Henry Rollins, “I am digging that band… not one bad track in their recorded catalogue”.


With momentum in the tank, they took to various locations across Victoria to get the beds of Future Forecast down. From Richmond’s historic Bakehouse Studios in all its grandeur, to a DIY run storage shed on High St, there’s consideration for the new and old on this album. Paying homage to the classics, but pivoting on them with avant-charged edge. It’s raw, searing guitars; pummeling rhythms; driving bass; with vocals that lock into and synergise with their wall of sound. Balanced by the raucous and restrained weaving of melodies and textures, the imbued sense of nostalgia, and the vocal variation which broadens their sound past any one genre label. There’s the horn fuelled drive of album opener ‘Radiant Eye’, the power pop ladden hook of ‘As Seen On Tv’, the emotively atmospheric and vocally subdued ‘Sunday Best’, culminating with closer ‘Come To Know’, before ending in a tightly wound splay of feedback and groove.


1. Radiant Eye
2. Another Day

3. As Seen On TV
4. Just A Fix
5. Tell The Papers
6. Sunday Best
7. Shake Like Death
8. Back To You
9. Hollywood Nights In Hamburg
10. Velvet Casino
11. Clone
12. Come To Know


CIVIC are: David Forcier (drums), Jim McCullough (vocals), Lewis Hodgson (guitar/ backing vocals), and Roland Hlavka (bass).

Album discography:
 New Vietnam 12″ EP (2018), Those Who No 7″ (2018), Selling, Sucking, Blackmail, Bribes 7″ (2019), Radiant Eye 7″ (2020), Future Forecast (2021).

You may also like

Leave a Comment