CEDRIC BURNSIDE Announces new album I Be Trying Shares new single & video ‘Step In’ Released June 25 on Single Lock Records

by the partae
Cedric Burnside
Photo by Abraham Rowe

Praise for Cedric Burnside

 “Cedric Burnside carries the mantle – the joy and the burdens and the history of the North Mississippi hill country blues, a style like no other in Southern Music” – The Bitter Southerner

“Grammy-nominated Blues musician Cedric Burnside remembers his roots” – NPR Weekend Edition

“The Big Bad Burnside Sound is back… and how!” – MOJO

After a year when plenty discovered what “the blues” really means, Cedric Burnside returns with I Be Trying; a new collection of 13 original songs that chart a course through dark times and towards the resonant love waiting to be found on the other side. A masterclass in Mississippi Hill Country Blues from its greatest living practitioner and two-time GRAMMY nominee, I Be Trying features stories of connection, hurt and redemption in the South as Burnside’s blistering guitar riffs become one with his emotive vocal melodies; sometimes conjuring what words can not.

I Be Trying finds Cedric, a student of and collaborator with his legendary grandfather RL Burnside, teaming with producer Boo Mitchell (“Uptown Funk” etc.) and Luther Dickinson (North Mississippi All-Stars) – themselves descendants of the great musical traditions of the American Delta – at Memphis’ hallowed Royal Studios, where Al Green, Solomon Burke, Buddy Guy and so many other legends came before. Despite this pedigree, or because of it, I Be Trying feels thoroughly modern, reinterpreting those musical legacies into a bold, contemporary Black American sound that expands the sonic landscape while respecting and honouring its roots. Nowhere is this more evident than on lead single ‘Step In,’ which finds Burnside praying to the heavens to escape hardship and despair but with metaphors reflecting the ails of our present-day world: “like an addict fiending for crack…Lord step in.”

I Be Trying marks Cedric’s newest chapter in a career that began at age 13 with an unmatched musical education in his grandfather’s touring band. Now serving as the leading global ambassador for the Hill Country Blues, a genre at once African and American, southern and Mississippian – local and universal – the album also features musicians like Alabama Shakes bassist Zac Cockrell and New Orleans drummer Reed Watson (John Paul White etc).  With a release on the artist-run Southern independent label Single Lock Records, the collection unmistakably charts a path forward for the Mississippi blues of a modern South.

Pre-order / Pre-save Cerdrick Bernside – I Be Trying: https://link.singlelock.com/cedric 

Cedric Burnside – ‘Step In’ (Official Video)

Cedric Burnside – I Be Trying

1. The World Can Be So Cold
2. Step In
3. I Be Trying
4. You Really Love me
5. Love is The Key
6. Keep on Pushing
7. Gotta Look Out
8. Pretty Flowers
9. What Makes Me Think
10. Bird Without a Feather
11. Hands Off That Girl
12. Get Down
13. Love You Forever

Cedric Burnside – I Be Trying is out Friday 25 June via Single Lock Records.
Cedric Burnside
Facebook | Instagram | Bandcamp

You may also like

Leave a Comment