Canadian Rock Band, Texas King Release New EP Capsize On July 7th

by the partae

Toronto, ON – Today, Canadian rock band Texas King is excited to announce their highly-anticipated new EP Capsize, set to be released on July 7th via Known Accomplice / Cadence Music Group and via all streaming platforms.

Capsize will be the band’s biggest and boldest record yet, and is a story of reckoning, redemption, nostalgia, and hope that sees Texas King’s Jordan Macdonald (Vocals & Guitar), Melvin Murray (Bass), and Phil Spina (Drums) following up from where their 2021 EP, Changes, left off.

The five-track EP will include Texas King’s current radio single “Whatever You Break,” a driving power ballad, which recently broke into the #5 on the Active Rock charts and is the band’s highest charting single to date. The song was produced by Brian Moncarz, along with the EP’s title track “Capsize” and “Rely On Me”.

“This is a follow up to our Changes EP and it speaks to the real life nature of things sometimes needing to get worse before they get better. The metaphor is that you’re in a boat and seemingly smooth sailing when all of a sudden you re enter rough waters and you find out that your boat wasn’t as solid as you thought. It flips over. A total capsize. There’s something to be said about hitting rock bottom. There are some “phoenix rising from the ashes” type vibes on this one that we hope fans enjoy,” said Jordan MacDonald, lead vocalist of Texas King.

In-your-face singalongs and heartfelt power ballads that reflect the heat, the urgency, and the desperation of a moment, are also showcased on the EP in the tracks, “Home” and “Memory,” produced by Peter van Helvoort and Matt Snell.

Texas King have put 250,000 miles into their van over the past decade – touring all over North America alongside acts like Big Wreck, Last Dinosaurs, and The Glorious Sons. Since 2013, they’ve been cutting their teeth on the road and in the studio, releasing music that captures the show-stopping passion they’ve brought to stages that include Vancouver’s Ambleside Festival, Ontario’s ParkJam and Hillside Festivals, and Québec’s Festival D’été.

Most recently, the band performed their high energy live show for 20 markets across Canada on their national tour, after announcing that they inked a deal with Known Accomplice, the go-to indie label serving rock and related genres in Canada. Texas King also has an upcoming show in Bala, ON on August 19th opening for The Trews.

For more information on Texas King, please visit here.

Capsize Track List

  1. Capsize
  2. Whatever You Break
  3. Memory
  4. Rely On Me
  5. Home

You may also like

Leave a Comment