Fontaines D.C. Share ‘Televised Mind’ Taken From Forthcoming LP ‘A Hero’s Death’ – Out Friday 31 July

by the partae
Fontaines D.C. Share 'Televised Mind' Taken From Forthcoming LP 'A Hero's Death' - Out Friday 31 July

Fontaines D.C. have shared a new song and accompanying music video. A live favourite, ‘Televised Mind’ heaves, drones, and churns – a perfect embodiment of the bruised and battered – albeit beautiful – throughline on the band’s forthcoming LP, A Hero’s Death (out Friday 31 July via Partisan Records / Liberator Music). Listen/watch below, and feel free to share.

Fontaines D.C. frontman Grian Chatten says of the song: “This song is about the echo chamber, and how personality gets stripped away by surrounding approval. People’s opinions get reinforced by constant agreement, and we’re robbed of our ability to feel wrong. We’re never really given the education of our own fallibility. People feign these great beliefs in order to appear trendy, as opposed to independently arriving at their own thoughts.

We were listening to a lot of The Prodigy and The Brian Jonestown Massacre, specifically their song ‘Open Heart Surgery’. I was interested in extrapolating those types of chord progressions and capturing this droning, hypnotic feel. That last line repeated over and over [“What ya call it”] is a buffer expression that people used here in Dublin. It’s sort of like “umm” or “well…” – it’s what people say when they’re distracted.”

A Hero’s Death was produced in London by Dan Carey (Black Midi, Bat For Lashes). The band have previously shared other album highlights ‘I Don’t Belong’ as well as the title track, which features a music video starring Aidan Gillen (Game of Thrones, The Wire, Peaky Blinders). Watch HERE.

Last week Fontaines D.C. also announced a run of Spring 2021 UK tour dates, including a show at London’s Alexandra Palace on 27th May, their biggest UK headline show to date. The band’s UK tour will be preceded by a new run of EU headline tour dates set to take place across March and April 2021. Full routing and more info can be found HERE.

The band’s debut album Dogrel debuted Top 10 on the UK album charts, earning Fontaines D.C. a Mercury Prize nomination, #1 Album of the Year positions from BBC 6 Music and Rough Trade, a performance on The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon and numerous sold out tours in the UK and abroad – including triumphantly selling out London Brixton Academy in just 1 week. The Guardian (who gave the album 5 stars) praised Dogrel as being “brilliant, top to bottom,” The FADER called Fontaines D.C. “One of the most exciting new bands around,” and NME (who also gave Dogrel 5 stars) called them “One of guitar music’s most essential new voices.”

Due to COVID-19, Fontaines D.C.’s April Australian headline tour has been rescheduled to December. All dates & ticketing information can be found HERE.

Tue 8 Dec – Metro Theatre, Sydney – SOLD OUT
Thu 10 Dec – The Triffid, Brisbane – SELLING FAST
Fri 11 Dec – Croxton Bandroom, Melbourne – SOLD OUT
Sun 13 Dec – Corner Hotel, Melbourne – SOLD OUTTickets & information available here

A Hero’s Death
Fontaines D.C.

Album out Friday 31 July 2020 through Partisan Records/Liberator Music
Available to pre-order here

A Hero’s Death tracklisting:
1. I Don’t Belong
2. Love Is The Main Thing
3. Televised Mind
4. A Lucid Dream
5. You Said
6. Oh Such A Spring
7. A Hero’s Death
8. Living In America
9. I Was Not Born
10. Sunny
11. No



You may also like

Leave a Comment