Trace Decay – Unveil Triumphant Debut EP ‘Monstrous Subconscious’

by the partae
Trace Decay - Unveil Triumphant Debut EP 'Monstrous Subconscious'


“It’s a brilliant moment that doubles down on the indie-pop brilliance they’ve carved over the last few releases, and while acts often stay semi-stagnant when they string together singles as such a pace, there’s a clear progression amongst Trace Decay’s work.”
Pilerats (AUS)

Another top quality one that feels sombre and resigned but maybe, just maybe, there’s some hope laced in the mix too.” – 4/5 stars
– Declan Byrne – triple j (AUS)

When it opens up in that final third, it’s like the blinds have been opened to the most glorious day and everything is gonna be ok. – 4/5 stars
– Zan Rowe – Double J (AUS)

“The Melbourne indie-pop pair have deftly created a brilliant debut that plays with melancholy and hope.”

Melbourne-based indie-pop duo Trace Decay has just revealed their blissful debut EP ‘Monstrous Subconscious’ – produced by frontman Jordan De Pas and Edvard Hakansson and mastered by Malcolm Besley (Northeast Party House, Client Liaison, Slowly Slowly).

‘Monstrous Subconscious’ is five tracks of ethereal indie-pop, deftly arranged with compelling instrumentation, as the bass and rhythm sections playfully interact to create a vibrant, yet somewhat bittersweet listen. Each track carefully delivers its own story and feel, while contributing to the wider narrative of the EP which offers insight into Jordan’s personal journey over the past few years, both mentally and emotionally.

Opener ‘Surprised At Something’ bursts out of the blocks with bright hi-hats, warm snares and sliding guitar riffs, equal parts nostalgic and melancholy. Next up, track two ‘Reality Check’ incorporates syncopated basslines, helping drive a kaleidoscope of reverberating instrumentation.

Lead single ‘Empty Handed’ melds captivating backing vocals and the commanding lead vocals of Jordan effortlessly. The technicolour choruses help propel the track through crescendos, rounding out an elegant slice of notable indie-pop.

This leads into the fourth track ‘Never Felt Like This’, a deftly mixed slow burner, highlighted by inviting synths and dreamy guitars. Focus track ‘Arcade Games’ satisfyingly closes out the record, as exquisitely arranged guitar arpeggios intertwine with Jordan’s enchanting croons.

Previous releases have been widely embraced by Australian radio stations triple jtriple j Unearthed3RRR4ZZZRTR FMEdge RadioPBS FMSYN FMRadio Adelaide and Aussie Music Weekly. They’ve also seen support from online blogs PileratsNMEMusic FeedsTrouble JuiceThe AU ReviewAAA BackstageSomething You Said and The Soundcheck. Their previous single ‘Photobooth’ was also featured on the new ABC iView show Retrograde.

The two-piece has sold-out headlining shows in their hometown and supported the likes of Art Vs. ScienceSan Mei and Shag Rock. When they aren’t writing pop hits, you can find them either running music festivals in Queensland (Arcadia Music & Arts Festival), managing up and coming Melbourne artists (IJALE + Quiet Blue) or studying at university.

‘Monstrous Subconscious’ is available worldwide now

EP Track Listing

1. Surprised At Something
2. Reality Check
3. Empty Handed
4. Never Felt Like This
5. Arcade Games



You may also like

Leave a Comment