PRINCESS NOKIA re-releases Metallic Butterfly (Remastered & Expanded)

by the partae
Princess Nokia has re-released a remastered and expanded version of her 2014 debut full lengthMetallic Butterfly via Rough Trade Records, featuring three bonus tracks from the era. Before the rapper/actor/model/intersectional feminist became the icon she is today, Destiny Frasqueri was a young trip-hop and Bjork-obsessed NYC raver kid. The album showcases all sides of what we’ve now come to know as the definitive multi-faceted artist Princess Nokia: music lover, philosopher, activist and anime nerd. The music was composed entirely with hip-hop producer OWWWLS, who also worked closely with her on 1992 Deluxe and has been her current live DJ.

When the album was originally released, Vice called it “one of the most exciting and ambitious independently released albums to come out of the New York underground in a long time” and Complexadds, “we’re treated to her raw, but emotionally-rich talent as a vocalist on Butterfly… It’s clear this girl’s talents are vast.”

Metallic Butterfly (Remastered & Expanded) features some of the enduring hits that are part of her live show, such as the pumped-up, drum-n-bass love song ‘Dragons,’ the Afro-Latina pride anthem ‘Corazon En Afrika,’ and the empowering mantra ‘Young Girls.’ These fan favourites and more are finally available on streaming services for the first time.

The shape-shifting emcee has been releasing music via YouTube and Soundcloud since she was in high school and catapulted herself to the next level with 1992 Deluxe—selling out venues across the globe and steadily gaining tens of millions of streams. Earlier this year, she released A Girl Cried Red–her mixtape showcasing another fully formed side of Destiny that still taps into the uncompromising feminist ideology of Princess Nokia.

Purchase / Stream Metallic Butterfly:

Additionally, below is a handwritten letter that Destiny wrote on the day of the record’s original release, it’s quite something. Please feel free to share.

Metallic Butterfly (Remastered & Expanded)

01. Dimensia
02. Hands Up
03. Seraphims
04. Young Girls
05. Biohazard Butterfly
06. Cybiko
07. Dragons
08. Felicity Island
09. Bikini Weather / Corazón En Afrika
10. Anomaly (Bonus Track)
11. Earth Is My Playground (Bonus Track)
12. Versace Hottie (Bonus Track)

Princess Nokia – Metallic Butterfly (Remastered & Expanded) is out now via Rough Trade / Remote Control

You may also like

Leave a Comment