U2 ‘SONGS OF EXPERIENCE’ – New studio album 1st December

by the partae


New Studio Album 1st December

New single ‘Get Out of Your Own Way’ – Listen Here

Island Records today announced the release of Songs of Experience, the 14th studio album from U2, which contains 13 new songs and will be released on the 1st December 2017 on digital and CD as Standard and Deluxe, and as a double vinyl album – pre order now.

A new single, the second to be taken from the record, titled ‘Get Out Of Your Own Way’ is out now – listen here. First single ‘You’re The Best Thing About Me’ was released on 6th September (watch here) and album track ‘The Blackout’ was previously released as a performance video in August.

Also today Live Nation announces U2’s North American dates for the eXPERIENCE + iNNOCENCE Tour running from 2nd May. More dates for 2018 will be announced.

Recorded in Dublin, New York and Los Angeles, Songs of Experience was completed earlier this year with its subject matter influenced by Brendan Kennelly’s* advice to Bono, to “…write as if you’re dead”. The result is a collection of songs in the form of intimate letters to places and people close to the singer’s heart: family, friends, fans and indeed himself.

Songs Of Experience is the companion release to 2014’s ‘Songs Of Innocence’, the two titles drawing inspiration from a collection of poems, Songs of Innocence and Experience, by the 18th century English mystic and poet William Blake.

Produced by Jacknife Lee and Ryan Tedder, with Steve LillywhiteAndy Barlow and Jolyon Thomas, the album features a cover image by Anton Corbijn of band-members’ teenage children Eli Hewson and Sian Evans.

The full track listing for Songs of Experience is: 
1. Love Is All We Have Left
2. Lights of Home
3. You’re The Best Thing About Me
4. Get out of Your Own Way
5. American Soul
6. Summer of love
7. Red Flag Day
8. The Showman (Little More Better)
9.The Little Things That Give You Away
10. Landlady
11. The Blackout
12. Love Is Bigger Than Anything in Its Way
13. 13 (There is a Light)

Pre Order the album from Here

*Brendan Kennelly – Irish poet, novelist and Professor Emeritus at Trinity College, Dublin.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.