SOJA announce new album ‘Poetry In Motion’

by the partae


SOJA’s core sound – an uplifting meld of reggae, go-go, D.C. hardcore, Latin, rock, and hip-hop – is as tight and compelling as it’s ever been in the group’s twenty-year history, but now the group delves deeper on its message of finding peace and understanding in the world caught in tribulation. For the band, having fun and social awareness can, and should, co-exist. “More” is a Bob Marley-influenced manifesto to fight greed by being content with what you got, whilst “Bad News” – having clocked up in excess of a million streams on Spotify – looks for hope in tragic headlines, urging listeners to keep their hopes up.

The album Poetry in Motion is as lead singer Jacob Hemphill explains; “about us, the human race. We’re beautiful. We’re the caretakers of this earth and everything that lives here, calls it home.  But something is wrong. Something in us is lost.  That’s the focus – how to get back to the beauty and away from…  well, this.

The members of SOJA, some of whom met in middle school, are stars among international reggae and jam-band world. The band have over 400 million YouTube views and over seven million social media followers combined. With over two decades of international touring under their belt with headline shows in over 30 countries, they have just wrapped up an extensive co-headlining tour with The Dirty Heads including the iconic Red Rocks Amphitheatre in Denver, Colorado.

In 2015, their last album, Amid The Noise and Haste – an album about how the human race relates to itself – earned them a Grammy nomination in the Best Reggae Album whilst also earning a nod in the same category for their SOJA: Live In Virginia album. With  accolades and a devoted fan base, these peace seekers use explosive energy and positivity to reach their audience and help them relate to the world and to each other…

SOJA – Poetry In Motion

1. Moving Stones
2. I Can’t Stop Dreaming
3. Tried My Best
4. More
5. Fire In The Sky
6. Everything To Me
7. Life Support
8. Bad News
9. To Whom It May Concern
10. Sing To Me
11. I Found You

Poetry In Motion by SOJA is out Friday October 27 on ATO Records via [PIAS] Get it here:

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.