Shame annnounce debut album ‘Songs Of Praise’, Share new single “One Rizla”

by the partae


Share new single “One Rizla” Playing Laneway Festival 2018

Dead Oceans and Inertia Music are happy to announce the debut album from Britain’s most exciting young band, ShameSongs of Praise is out January 12, 2018, and the video for new single “One Rizla” is available to watch now.

Shot on a farm in Lancashire, the video sees the young band’s first, moderately successful and entertaining foray into farm-work, with a less than amused patriarch overseeing their work. It’s directly related to the album artwork for Songs of Praise with singer Charlie Steen stating “we wanted to turn the album artwork into the video for ‘One Rizla’, highlighting our vulnerability as individuals whilst paying homage to Withnail & I simultaneously.

The track itself is the first song the band wrote together. “I think that’s reflected in the simplicity of it,” Steen states. A song about embracing insecurity as a strength, he continues, “It’s honest and raw, whilst attempting a stab at number one in the pop charts across the Eastern hemisphere.” 

The London five piece have swiftly earned a reputation as one of the most visceral and exhilarating live bands in the UK, their combustible shows being honed through a heavy touring schedule in the UK – including an incredible sold out show at the Scala and a personal invite by Billy Bragg to play the Left Field stage at Glastonbury this year. 

Catch Shame making their Australian debut in January next year as part of the Laneway Festival lineup, as well as their own headline shows in Sydney and Melbourne. Details below.


presented by Laneway Presents & Chugg Entertainment

Wednesday February 7 | The Lansdowne, Sydney NSW
Thursday, February 8 | The Tote, Melbourne VIC


Friday February 2 | St. Jerome’s Laneway Festival, Adelaide SA
Saturday February 3 | St. Jerome’s Laneway Festival, Melbourne VIC
Sunday February 4 | St. Jerome’s Laneway Festival, Sydney NSW
Saturday February 10 | St. Jerome’s Laneway Festival, Brisbane QLD
Sunday February 11 | St. Jerome’s Laneway Festival, Fremantle WA

More Info

Songs Of Praise

1. Dust On Trial
2. Concrete
3. One Rizla
4. The Lick
5. Tasteless
6. Donk
7. Gold Hole
8. Friction
9. Lampoon
10. Angie


Charlie Steen (vocals)
Sean Coyle-Smith (guitar)
Eddie Green (guitar)
Charlie Forbes (drums)
Josh Finerty (bass)

Songs Of Praise by Shame is out January 12, 2018
on Dead Oceans via Inertia Music
Pre-order now:


You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.