PIXX Shares new single & video ‘Andean Condor’ New album Small Mercies out Friday 7 June

by the partae
PIXX Shares new single & video 'Andean Condor' New album Small Mercies out Friday 7 June

Hannah Rodgers, the mastermind behind Pixx, releases a third single ‘Andean Condor’ from her forthcoming album, Small Mercies out Friday 7 June via 4AD / Remote Control. A tongue-in-cheek album opener, she muses on gender politics – “mature males tend to be at the top of the pecking order” – inspired by the world’s largest flying bird.

“This song is written about the link between wo/mankind and nature,” Rodgers says. “It is important to recognise how many times women have to face the absurdity of male hierarchy in our modern world. Having had endless conversations with (certain) men who justify the inequality of the sexes by comparing themselves to animals, I thought what better way to help them than to remind those men that they are supposed to be human, with emotional capability and growth.”

The visuals for ‘Andean Condor’ were created by Alice Clingan. Premiered by The FADER, watch it in full below.

‘Andean Condor’ follows the singles ‘Bitch’ and ‘Disgrace’ and are all taken from the second Pixxalbum, Small Mercies, due for release on Friday 7 JuneSmall Mercies is a series of poetic examinations of love across the experiential spectrum, from the micro (self-love) to the macro (devotional faith-inspired love, love for this planet), all set to a soundtrack that mixes electronic pop and grungy guitar rock with aplomb. It follows the 23 year-old’s debut album, The Age Of Anxiety (2017) – an unsettling synth-pop record fuelled by Pixx’s own debilitating experience of angst – and 2015’s forlorn and folk-edged Fall In EP. Co-produced by Simon Byrt (who worked on both her EP and debut album) and Dan Carey, it sees Pixx assuming different personas to examine the damage done by religion, gender-based power hierarchies and stereotypes, the tipping point of Earth’s destruction and love.

Pixx – ‘Andean Condor’ Purchase / Streamhttps://pixx.lnk.to/smallmercies

Pixx – Small Mercies

1. Andean Condor
2. Bitch
3. Disgrace
4. Small Mercies
5. Peanuts Grow Underground
6. Funsize
7. Dirt interlude pt. 1
8. Mary Magdalene
9. Hysterical
10. Eruption 24
11. Dirt interlude pt. 2
12. Duck Out
13. Blowfish

Pixx – Small Mercies is out Friday 7 June via 4AD / Remote Control Records.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.