by the partae

Album out Friday September 29
on Play It Again Sam via [PIAS]

Oscar and the Wolf will release his sophomore album Infinity on Friday September 29.

Today he reveals the first single and video for “Breathing“, which is available now on Play It Again Sam via [PIAS].

As Oscar and the Wolf describes:

‘Breathing’ to me is a sexy track, sun-drenched in melancholy. A celebration of sadness for creatures of the night. The video reflects me as a performer as one of those creatures. My skin made from diamonds reflecting the moon in an otherworldly landscape. Basically, I made myself look in a way I want to look every day, in the landscape of my dreams.

In the three years since his debut album emerged, Oscar and The Wolf has gone onto become a superstar back home in Belgium who sells out 20,000 capacity venues and closed last year’s Pukkelpop festival performing above the likes of Rihanna and LCD Soundsystem. He’s also making waves across Europe headlining arenas from Amsterdam to Istanbul as well as major festivals including performing on stage right before Muse at 2016’s Lowlands festival. Surrounded by a crowd and lashings of pyrotechnics, Oscar and the Wolf always rises to the occasion. Adored by the fashion world he was also commissioned by globally renowned designer Dries Van Noten to create the soundtrack to 2015’s spring/summer collection at his Paris Fashion Week show.

Now he’s preparing to expand his fanbase further with new album, Infinity, which he wrote after a year of intense self-exploration. “I’ve never made such an eclectic collection of songs, and it’s turned out that way because I’ve had kind of a dramatic year,” he says with a knowing hint of understatement. “But actually I think drama can be a good thing. I don’t try to win over the fact that I’m feeling dark or blue – I try to dive into it as deep as I can, until I find something interesting in there. That’s where the music comes from.

At the heart of Oscar and the Wolf lies a dichotomy. Max Colombie chose this evocative stage name because it captures the two sides of his personality and of his music. “I wanted a name that offered the perfect contrast between darkness and light,” he explains. “Oscar is poetic – it represents the side of me that’s a daydreamer. But the wolf is an animal that howls at the moon, so it symbolises the loneliness that’s inside me.

This rich contrast permeates every single Oscar and the Wolf song, explaining, “I never want to make songs that are only sad or only happy”. Initially, the Smiths were a significant influence, but now his R&B-flecked electro-pop noir can be inspired by anything from a Calvin Harris banger to a Connan Mockasin psych jam. “I think of my songs as almost like Disney music for adults. They have lots of sexual and over-the-top elements that maybe aren’t suited to children! But I want to break through the social construction of this idea that there’s music you’re ‘supposed’ to make. I don’t believe in this line between alternative and commercial music – even classical pieces are like pop music to me. And I think there’s a real beauty in the EDM sound.

Oscar and the Wolf
1. So Real
2. Exotic
3. Susato
4. Pretty Infiniti
5. Touch Down
6. Queen
7. Honey
8. Runaway
9. Last Night
10. Breathing
11. Chevrolet
12. Fever

Infinity by Oscar and the Wolf is out Friday September 29
on Play It Again Sam via [PIAS] Pre-order now:
For media enquires, please contact sophie@inertiamusic.com

For more information:



You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.