Jessica Lea Mayfield shares video for “Meadow”; ‘Sorry Is Gone’ out Sep 29

by the partae

on ATO via [PIAS]

The official music video for Jessica Lea Mayfield’s new song “Meadow” premiered overnight on Stereogum.  “Meadow” is the second track unveiled from Mayfield’s anticipated new album, Sorry Is Gone, which will be released Friday September 29 on ATO Records via [PIAS].

Already receiving acclaim, the video for the album’s title track recently premiered at NPR Music. Of the song, NPR Music’s Bob Boilen praises, “Jessica Lea Mayfield is taking back her life. ‘Sorry Is Gone’, the title track to her next album, is a song of empowerment that finds the singer moving past a difficult period in her life…Despite the weight of that, the song feels breezy, flowing and freeing.” Watch “Sorry Is Gone” here.

The 11-track record was recorded at Water Music and Electric Lady studios with producer John Agnello (Kurt VileSonic Youth, Dinosaur Jr.Phosphorescent). In addition to Mayfield, the album features a variety of world-renowned musicians including Seth Avett on backing vocals and keys, drummer Steve Shelley (Sonic Youth, Sun Kil Moon), bassist Emil Amos (GrailsHoly Sons) and guitarist Cameron Deyell (SiaStreets of Laredo) with additional production from Patrick Damphier (The Mynabirds).

Of the record, Mayfield comments, “The whole record is about me taking my life back, without really realizing it. I realized I’m the only person that is going to look out for me. I have to be my main person. No one else.” She continues, “I have to sing about things and write about things that have happened to me as therapy. That’s what connects me to other music I listen to. I want music to make me feel things. This is my inner dialogue, and my chance to get the last word.

Sorry Is Gone is Mayfield’s first solo album since 2014’s Make My Head Sing…, which was released to widespread acclaim. Of the album, Rolling Stone asserted, “…Mayfield’s echo-laden bluegrass vocals mesh with scorching electric guitar lines to render remarkable results,” while Pitchfork praised, “There’s something certainly compelling about this raw, minimalist sound” and NPR’s Fresh Air proclaimed, “The music is heavy, but it soars.” Additionally Interview Magazinedeclared, “Mayfield sounds like she’s finally arrived” and USA Today affirmed, “Her evolution as an artist has been fascinating to hear.” Most recently, in 2015, Mayfield collaborated with Seth Avett on Seth Avett and Jessica Lea Mayfield Sing Elliott Smith.

Jessica Lea Mayfield
Sorry Is Gone

1. Wish You Could See Me Now
2. Sorry Is Gone
3. Meadow
4. Maybe Whatever
5. Soaked Through
6. Safe 2 Connect 2
7. Bum Me Out
8. WTF
9. Offa My Hands
10. World Won’t Stop
11. Too Much Terrible

Sorry Is Gone by Jessica Lea Mayfield is out Friday September 29
on ATO Records via [PIAS]

Photo Credit: Ebru Yildiz


You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.