by the partae

Where are you based?

I’m currently based in Nashville, Tennessee!

Please give an example of your music writing process?

I’ve been writing songs for about a decade.  I take different approaches to writing depending on the project.  Sometimes I’ll write lyrics/melody to a track that already been created.  Other times I’ll write out all the lyrics like a poem and then find music to put underneath it.  My best songs have been written when I’m creating the music and lyrics at the same time.  Usually they heavily influence each other and help to paint the overall feeling of the song together.

What are you working on right now?

Currently, I’m getting ready to record some new music set to release at the end of the summer.  I’ve been writing for the last year, and I’m really excited about the new material I have.

What is your gear setup?

I play a Nord Piano 2!  At full band shows my set up is keys, drums, bass, electric guitar, back-up vocals and a 3-piece horn section!

What do you like to do outside of music and does it affect your music?

A hobby of mine is oil painting, and it definitely helps fuel my creative process.  When I’m feeling bored with what I’m writing, I like to paint as another way to create and recharge my musical ideas.  I also did the album artwork for my debut EP Strike A Match.

How would you describe your music genre?

I would say my style is soul/pop.  Influenced by R&B/soul music but at the core, singer/songwriter with catchy melodies.

Do you know any music theory?

I do!  I graduated from the Frost School of Music at the University of Miami.  4 semesters of music theory and other music courses under my belt!

What are your plans for the future?

I plan on continuing to create music that feels honest and true to me, reflects the world around me, and hopefully resonates with other people.  I want to tour more and connect with other artists along the way.  Would love to work on a full-length record in the next couple years.

How did you get into music?

I’ve always been drawn to music and art.  My grandma was a watercolor painter and a big fan of opera music.  My grandpa sings and played drums when he was younger.  The classes I thrived in during my elementary/middle schools years were writing and music classes.  I was in the school choir until I graduated high school, did all the musicals, wrote poetry and loved my creative writing class, took piano lessons, and began creating my own songs when I was 13.  I’ve always felt the most myself when I’m creating and playing music.

What are you listening to at the moment?

At the moment, I’m listening to a lot of Allen Stone, Emily King and Lianne La Havas.

Who are your top 5 influences and icons?

Joni Mitchell, Carole King, James Taylor, Alicia Keys, and Sara Bareilles.

When are you playing next?

I have an upcoming tour, and I’m playing in NYC, NJ, PA, Knoxville, and Nashville.  I’m also playing the BMI stage at LouFest in St. Louis in September.  All of my tour dates can be found at

Photo Credit: Nathan Zucker Photography


You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.