GULP share new video “Morning Velvet Sky”. New album coming in 2018.

by the partae

New video Morning Velvet Sky” 
New album coming in 2018

With their new album set for release next year, Cardiff-based band Gulp, made up of Guto Pryce (Super Furry Animals), Lindsey Leven & Gid Goundrey are sharing a kaleidoscopic new video to match their psych, synth-pop sounds. 

Director Jennifer Lewandowski explained the video, saying “The making of the film for “Morning Velvet Sky” chimed with the changing of the season, the last days of Summer turning to Autumn. We shot the film in the magical woodlands of Epping Forest, capturing reflections and shimmers in nature and conjuring the spirit of Queen Boudicca in the fading light of day.” 

After touring across the UK this summer with festival shows at FOCUS Wales, Sea Change, Festival No. 6, End Of The Road, Kendal Calling, Liverpool Sound City and more, “Morning Velvet Sky” is the latest instalment of Gulp’s luscious psych-pop sounds and a hit of what to expect from their next full-length next year. The single is available now digitally and on 1st December on 12” Vinyl via E.L.K. records.

Originally from Scotland, vocalist Lindsey moved to Cardiff to where she met Guto Pryce at a Christmas psych party– a joining of kindred spirits in a city with an ever-evolving arts scene. It was there that the foundations of Gulp came to be as the two joined forces to create this musical venture; the band name coming from a play on words of combining both of their initials.
Gulp make warm, fuzzy, luscious pop by combining ethereal sounds of both acoustic and electric drums and synths. Their music is like a road trip; the landscape and events along the way, filmic scenes and melodies – from the sun-squinting, flickering saturation and lens flare of the Californian desert, to the gloamin of rural Scottish and Welsh homescapes. The pair are joined by permanent member Gid Goundrey on guitar and various friends on drums including Stuart Kidd (Euros Child/Norman Blake), Kliph Scurlock (Flaming Lips/ Gruff Rhys), Gwion Lleweyln (Meilyr Jones), Dave Newington (Boy Azooga) & others.

“Morning Velvet Sky” artwork:

Gulp Twitter
Gulp Facebook
Gulp Website

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.