GOAT GIRL Announce debut album Goat Girl Shares new single ‘The Man’

by the partae
Goat Girl are happy to announce to their debut album Goat Girl released by Rough Trade Records / Remote Control Records on Friday 6th April. The album was produced by Dan Carey (Kate Tempest / Franz Ferdinand) in his South London studio in the Autumn of 2017.

Across 19 tracks in 40 minutesGoat Girl’s self-titled debut creates a half fantasy world out of a very dirty ugly city reality. In the groups words: “Simply put, it’s an album that comes from growing up in London and the first-hand experience of our city’s devolution. We wanted to think of it as this place seen not necessarily just through our eyes, but someone who can’t get past the abnormalities and strange happenings that exist in our city. We think this gives the freedom lyrically and musically to explore unspoken truths and emotions that we all as humans feel.”

This world is populated by creeps and liars, lovers, dreamers and wonderful lunatics. It’s a very English album – sharp-eyed observations like The Kinks, louche rage like The Slits – but it’s also full of swampy swaggering guitars and Lottie’s filthy drawl. “It wasn’t exactly intentional to have this warped country sound, but I think that was initially what we were all drawn to and inspired by, bands that existed in a lo-fi, dissonant, scratchy context.”

Goat Girl are part of a burgeoning, close-knit South London scene that includes Shame, Bat-Bike, Madonnatron, Horsey, Sorry and many more. The bands are all based in and around the Windmill in Brixton.

Goat Girl have built up a strong live following over the last year, headlining their own tours and supporting The Fall, Fat White Family & Parquet Courts.

Pre-order Goat Girl – Goat Girl via https://goatgirl.lnk.to/album

Goat Girl – ‘The Man’
Stream / Purchase https://goatgirl.lnk.to/TheMan

Goat Girl – Goat Girl

1. Salty Sounds (interlude)
2. Burn the Stake
3. Creep
4. Viper Fish
5. A Swamp Dogs Tale (interlude)
6. Cracker Drool
7. Slowly Reactions
8. The Man with No Heart & Brain
9. Moonlight Monkey (interlude)
10. The Man
11. Lay Down
12. I Don’t Care Part 1
13. Hanks Theme (interlude)
14. I Don’t Care Part 2
15. Throw Me A bone
16. Dance on Dirty Leftovers (interlude)
17. Little Liar
18. Country Sleaze
19. Tomorrow

Goat Girl – Goat Girl is out Friday 6th April
via Rough Trade / Remote Control.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.