DAN BLACK Announces Album ‘Do Not Revenge’ + Reveals New Single ‘Farewell (feat. KELIS)’

by the partae



Wonky-pop musician and producer Dan Black has partnered with HipHopDX to premiere ‘Farewell feat. Kelis’, the fourth of 12 “experiences” leading up to the release of Do Not Revenge, his first official full length album since 2009’s ((un)).


Do Not Revenge will be released officially 7 July 2017. In what he calls “12 Songs, 12 Experiences,” Black will provide listeners with the opportunity to be submerged in the songs on the album through a number of creatively distinct experiences. The previous three of the 12 experiences, ‘Headphones’, ‘Blow’ and ‘So’, have already launched on Black’s cryptic webpage, where seconds have begun counting down progressively to the moment when each allotted block fills with a cut from the new album.

With eight reveals remaining, between now and the time that the final experience, ‘We Drift On feat. Imogen Heap’ launches, listeners will be able to discover tracks from the album through different digital Do Not Revenge related events, such as: a 24 hour live streaming performance, a 100-camera film experience, a playable video game, straight-up music videos + more. Be sure to keep an eye on his Facebook here for full details.

“I tried to think of the album as this complete thing,” Black says. “For me it is important to write that way. If I get too focused on one song, I can get sucked into a need for perfection. Thinking bigger is more freeing – maybe in all things actually – not just music.”

Do Not Revenge tracklist:

  1. Wash Away
  2. Space Invaders
  3. Blow
  4. Farewell (feat. Kelis)
  5. So
  6. Headphones
  7. We Drift On (feat. Imogen Heap)
  8. Ur The 1
  9. Plastic Heart
  10. Polar Bears
  11. Ballad of Player 1up
  12. Zoo (Bonus Track)

Do Not Revenge – Dan Black 
Out Friday 7 July through Liberator Music
Pre-order available here


You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.