Cults Release New Track “I Got Your Message (feat. Christopher Owens),” ‘Offering’ Out Now

by the partae


Cults have been busy playing to packed rooms across North America this past Fall in support of their latest album Offering. As a thank you to their fans, they’ve released a new track titled “I Got Your Message.” The song features Christopher Owens from Curls, who supported the band on their west coast dates.

Listen to “I Got Your Message”

Cults had this to say about the track, “Hello everybody! We just wanted reach out and thank you guys for coming out to what was honestly our favorite tour yet. We spent a good bit of time working on this music and we had no idea how this tour was going to go down but you guys blew away our expectations night after night.

As a gift we wanted to send you guys a link to a song we recorded a few months ago. It’s kind of a full circle thing as it’s a cover of a song of the band that opened the majority of the tour (Hideout) featuring Christopher Owens from Curls who also did support for the California dates. We think it’s a fun little ditty and we hope you guys enjoy it.

Y’all are the best for showing up and making this tour as awesome as it was. We’ll see you out in Europe in January and hopefully everywhere else throughout the rest of the year. ️”

Watch this space for more Cults news.


Acclaim for Cults:

“On Offering, the band has transitioned from doo-wop lilts about heartbreak to spaced-out melodies on hope.” Under the Radar

“(‘I Took Your Picture With My Eyes Closed’) finds the band on a new wave kick that softens the edges from the rock-centric set on 2013’s Static”  Billboard

“(‘Offering’) cuts straight to the heart of what makes a Cults’ track great, as singer Madeline Follin offers breathy, reflective vocals” Spin

“Offering is a well-crafted album and the perfect soundtrack for summer nostalgia.” BUST

“There is a newfound confidence and self-awareness in Follin’s lyrics that melds seamlessly with the songs’ colorful arrangements.”Bandcamp

“glittery, synth-laden”  Consequence of Sound on “Offering”

“Follin’s polished and bright, tie dyed vocals ripple over a sea of Metric Fantasies-era synth with a spine-bending riff that bring out a new pathos for Cults.”

KEXP on “I Took Your Picture

“Offering lives up to its name — Cults give more of themselves on these songs than ever before, and opening themselves to more possibilities pays off with some of their most exciting music.”  All Music 

“The lyrics are pure romance. It also benefits from a dreamy-sounding chorus – perfect for the last of these summer days.” Hollywood Life on “I Took Your Picture”

“If “I Took Your Picture” is any indication, their upcoming album may continue to feature the hazy-guitar and high-pitched vocals for which they are known.” Baeble

“The new single is heavy on the shimmery, synth vibes – piled with layers upon layers of background 8-bit fuzz, with Madeline Folin’s pure, ethereal vocals slicing through the static psych atmosphere.” The Key WPXN on “Offering”

“A mysterious and dark theme, guided by heavy bass and drum beats and lead singer Madeleine Follin’s unmistakably angelic vocals.” MXDWN on “Offering”


The NYC-based Cults is Madeline Follin and  Brian Oblivion and Offering marks the band’s first LP since the critically acclaimed 2013 album Static.  It also marks the beginning of a more collaborative phase for Cults. The duo have always traded ideas, but for the first time they sat down to jam out ideas together in a room. Follin, who has always written her own parts, came into her own as instrumentalist during the Offering sessions, playing drums and keyboards throughout. Her equal partnership with Oblivion flies in the face of a far-too-common industry assumption that women are passive participants in their own art. Offering also reflects a new confidence in the studio which resulted in the strong, full sound found throughout the album.

Offering track listing

  1. Offering
    2. I Took Your Picture
    3. With My Eyes Closed
    4. Recovery
    5. Right Words
    6. Good Religion
    7. Natural State
    8. Nothing Is Written
    9. Talk In Circles
    10. Clear From Far Away
    11. Gilded Lily


Find Cults here:


Featured Photo Credit : Shawn Brackbill



You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.