Creep Show (John Grant + Wrangler) to release debut album ‘Mr. Dynamite’ in 2018; Listen to “Pink Squirrel” now

by the partae


Out March 16, 2018 on Bella Union via [PIAS]

Listen to ‘Pink Squirrel’ now

“It was a strange dream. I was at an art gallery and the paintings on the wall told the story of art. How different ideas and styles bleed into one another and drift around, never fixed, always evolving. That was the subject of the exhibition and it was called Creep Show.” Benge (Creep Show)

Creep Show brings together John Grant with the dark analogue electro of Wrangler (Stephen Mallinder / Phil Winter / Benge) to create Mr. Dynamite – a debut album packed with experimental pop and surreal funk.


Recorded in Cornwall with a lifetime’s collection of drum machines and synthesisers assembled by Benge and explored by every member of Creep Show, there’s a real sense of freedom in the shackles-off grooves, channelling the early pioneering spirit of the Sugarhill Gang through wires and random electric noise.

John Grant and former Cabaret Voltaire frontman Stephen Mallinder, who switch between oblique wordplay to sinister humour as Phil Winter and Benge continue to man-handle the machines. “Creep Show is Hydra,” says Mallinder. “A beast with multiple heads and voices, so no one is quite sure who is saying and doing what. Everything is permitted and everything is possible.” Grant: “I do like theatre of the absurd and some of it is that, but most of it is just having fun. We did a lot of laughing and just had a blast doing it.”  The creepy “alter-ego” title track, ‘Pink Squirrel’’s vocoder kaleidoscope and Grant’s exhilarating croon on the nine minute ‘Safe And Sound’ are just some of the twists and hooks to be explored on this consistently inventive record.

Creep Show
Mr. Dynamite

1. Mr. Dynamite
2. Modern Parenting
3. Tokyo Metro
4. Endangered Species
5. K Mart Johnny
6. Pink Squirrel
7. Lime Ricky
8. Fall
9. Safe And Sound


Mr. Dynamite by Creep Show is out March 16, 2018 on Bella Union via [PIAS] Pre-order now:


You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.