Courtney Marie Andrews announces reissue of her breakout album ‘Honest Life’ and accompanying 7″

by the partae


Honest Life reissue from Fat Possum, Friday September 15 

Bonus 7″ with two new songs “Near You” and “Sea Town”

Courtney Marie Andrews has revealed a new song, from the 7” that will accompany the re-issue of her breakout album Honest Life on Friday September 15 on Fat Possum via Inertia Music. “Near You” speaks to learning to love, not just someone else but ultimately yourself.

Andrews describes her experience saying “‘Near You’ is about loving someone without expectations or ego. I wrote this song when I was 20 years old. At that time, I was still learning about that kind of love, and I suspect writing this song helped me understand that. Real adult love, is loving yourself enough to love someone without expectations. Near You explores themes of a flawed person who loves another flawed person, but doesn’t beg them to change. Since this song was written so long ago, but was still an integral part of my live sets, I really wanted to give it the proper attention it deserves, and finally record and release it to the world.

Courtney Marie Andrews’ Honest Life grabbed year-end lists from Rolling StoneStereogumPasteAmerican Songwriter to NPR which lead to her performing on the first episode of the new season of Later…With Jools Holland (alongside ThundercatAnderson .PaakSpoon), and has received glowing press including a major BBC profile, five star review in The Telegraph,  multiple features in The Guardian and a profile in The Independent.

Her duet with Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy for Our First 100 Days was lauded by Stereogum, Consequence of SoundBrooklyn Vegan and Paste. Andrews has just completed a successful tour with Joe Pug in Australia and will be on a headlining tour in Europe in the second half of the year.


“Her songs are anchored by smart lyricism that seems more like an intimate conversation than a fiery confessional.”
Rolling Stone

“So the album goes: over and above the intimacy of the sparse acoustic landscapes and her unaffected vocals – Joni Mitchell and Alela Diane are clear influences – the delicate lyrical barbs make Honest Life one to hear.”
The Guardian

“[Honest Life] is an expert marriage of gracefully confessional songwriting with country-folk arrangements that recall Joni Mitchell.”

“Plenty of vocalists can sing with power, and some can sing with convincing subtlety. There aren’t very many who can do both in the same breath. Courtney Marie Andrews is one of those rare artists.”


Courtney Marie-Andrews
Honest Life

1. Rookie Dreaming
2. Not The End
3. Irene
4. How Quickly Your Heart Mends
5. Let The Good One Go
6. Honest Life
7. Table For One
8. Put The Fire Out
9. 15 Highway Lines
10. Only In My Mind

Bonus 7″
1. Sea Town
2. Near You

Honest Life by Courtney Marie-Andrews is out physically on Friday September 15 on Fat Possum via Inertia Music
Pre-order now:

You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.