The Academic Release ‘Why Can’t We Be Friends?’ & Unveil Tracklist For Debut Album ‘Tales From The Backseat’ Out 12th Jan

by the partae

The Academic Release ‘Why Can’t We Be Friends?’ & Unveil Tracklist For Debut Album ‘Tales From The Backseat’ Out 12th Jan

The Academic – ‘Why Can’t We Be Friends?’

Irish breakout four-piece The Academic share new single Why Can’t We Be Friends?, their sleek, funk-infused take on volatile romance.
With a delectable bass groove and a chorus that will worm its way into your consciousness, the quartet’s latest release is another taster from their eagerly anticipated debut album Tales From The Backseat out 12th January.
Recorded in LA with producer Tim Pagnotta (Dreamcar, Wilde Belle, Saint Motel), their debut record offers some of the band’s most accomplished songwriting yet. From the anthemic alt-rock mastery of ‘Bear Claws’ to the infectious, joyful exuberance of previous single ‘Permanent Vacation’, the songs take aim at the turbulence of growing into your twenties – loss of innocence, wariness of adulthood, unease with and ultimate acceptance of the inevitability of growing up.
Having spent the last two years touring throughout the US, UK and Europe, the young indie outfit have been fast building a dedicated grassroots following. With a growing reputation for their explosive, high-octane live show, which has not gone unnoticed, the band have been invited to support acts including The StrokesTwenty One PilotsNoel Gallagher and Catfish And The Bottlemen. Currently on a full European tour supporting The Kooks this month, their profile is only set to rise further.
Alongside critical praise from the likes of The New York TimesThe Independent and The Irish Times, not to mention widespread BBC Radio 1 airplay from Annie Mac and Huw Stephens, the four-piece have been earmarked by Phil Taggart as one of Ireland’s biggest emerging acts, drawing welcome comparisons to fellow Irishmen Two Door Cinema Club amongst others. 
Why Can’t We Be Friends?, produced by Tim Pagnotta (Dreamcar, Wilde Belle, Saint Motel), will be available on all platforms 16th November.
Tales From The Backseat is available to pre-order from 17th November here.

Tales from the Backseat Tracklist:
1) Permanent Vacation
2) Bear Claws
3) Different
4) I Feel It Too
5) Bite My Tongue
6) Fake ID
7) Northern Boy
8) Television
9) Why Can’t We Be Friends?
10) Girlfriends
The Academic is Craig Fitzgerald (vox/guitar), Dean Gavin (drums) and brothers Matt (lead guitar) and Stephen Murtagh (bass).

Live Dates (message for press passes):
16 Nov – Cirque Royal, Brussels*
18 Nov – Nobelberget, Stockholm*
19 Nov – Sentrum Scene, Oslo*
20 Nov – Store Vega, Copenhagen*
*supporting The Kooks

The Academic Online
Facebook Twitter Soundcloud / Instagram



You may also like

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.