Umm Share “Black Summer” Video, Debut Album “Double Worshipper” Out Now


Umm, the LA fuzz-pop duo of husband and wife Stefanie Drootin and Chris Senseney, shared the music video for their hypnotizing single “Black Summer” today. Drootin describes the song as about “abandoning the idea of arriving at any kind of stable and eternal adulthood. Sort of rejecting the notion… that at some point you’ll become a finished version of yourself.” The Mike Stillkey-directed video accordingly shows the couple’s playful side, set at the beach and featuring a horse head.

She Shreds, who premiered the video, say “Black Summer” “pairs easygoing fuzz and the duo’s signature vocal stylings with lyrical themes of accepting adulthood for what it is, rather than some (possibly-unattainable) ideal.”

“Black Summer” is on Umm’s debut album Double Worshipperout now on Majestic Litter.

Umm plays their hometown of LA tonight at the Bootleg Theater, opening for the Mynabirds. On September 29, they’ll open for Angel Olsen at Lincoln Calling festival in Lincoln, Nebraska.

Praise for Double Worshipper:

“The perfect summer chill-out record.” – Lenny Letter

“Gorgeous… It’s a little slowcore-ish, a little grungy, and Stefanie and Chris’s voices sound great in harmony with each other.” – Brooklyn Vegan

“A compelling blend of mellow and vintage sounds.” – Interview

More on Umm:

A new project from Stefanie Drootin (The Good Life, Big Harp) and Chris Senseney (Big Harp), Umm finds the couple drawing inward, draping vintage harmonies and shards of fuzz over grounded, primitive rhythms and simple, aching pop melodies. Like the Everly Brothers and Suicide smoking cigarettes in bed and listening to the Breeders, but dual-gendered and neither naive nor pretentious. (Chris and Stef’s other project Big Harp has earned acclaim for releases on Saddle Creek, Fat Possum and Majestic Litter, ranging from literate folk to kaleidoscopic thrash-pop, as well as being lauded for their energetic live shows in the US and Europe).

Umm – Double Worshipper
Majestic Litter
1. Black Summer
2. I’m In Love
3. Some Jungle
4. Hunt/Haunt
5. Total Collapse Of The Sun
6. Oh Yes Now
7. Yeah I Want It
8. Idiot Child
Share on Pinterest
« »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *