Oneohtrix Point Never reveals new single “Leaving The Park”


Good Time Original Motion Picture Soundtrack out Friday August 11
on Warp Records via Inertia Music

Winner of Best Soundtrack Award 2017 at Cannes Film Festival

Good Time looks terrific, bringing a scrappy sheen to the Safdies’ native borough.
But more essential to its tight clench is the knockout underscoring, an almost
nonstop blitz of intoxicating electronica from…Oneohtrix Point Never.”

Hollywood Reporter

“It’s perfectly matched with the score provided by Oneohtrix Point Never’s
Daniel Lopatin, which nods to Tangerine Dream–style VHS thriller soundtracks of
yore while going someplace far more inventive and expressive than most current
imitators. Lopatin’s anxious squiggles of melodies and sonic assaults give
us as good a sense as any of what it feels like inside Connie’s head.”


A 21st-century fast-food hybrid that mixes trash television and drug culture
with Day-Glo-splattered night-time cinematography and throbbing synthesizers,
thanks to a standout score from Oneohtrix Point Never.

The Film Stage

Oneohtrix Point Never (Daniel Lopatin) reveals the second single from the forthcoming album Good Time Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, “Leaving The Park”. The first single “The Pure and the Damned” featuring Iggy Pop was released last month to a rapturous reception.

As a centre piece to the Good Time’s (dir. Josh and Benny Sadfie) score “Leaving The Park” encapsulates the paradoxical nature of the main character Connie (Robert Pattinson), and his struggle to manipulate reality as it spins out of control. As one of the album’s many standout tracks, this riveting instrumental piece showcases Oneohtrix Point Never’s ability to tell stories through intricately woven melodies.

At once recognisable in the lineage of influences ranging from synth prog, new age, library music and IDM, and yet driven by Lopatin’s beautiful, disquieting and alien approach to songcraft, “Leaving The Park” builds and expands on the hallmark Oneohtrix Point Never sound that has made him one of the most consistently inventive musicians of the contemporary music landscape.

Good Time has received outstanding reviews that also highlight Oneohtrix Point Never’s celebrated score and a career-best performance by Pattinson. The hypnotic crime thriller follows Connie in a twisted odyssey through the New York underworld in a desperate attempt to get his brother out of jail. Australian release dates to follow, watch trailer below.

Lopatin and the Safdie brothers became close collaborators through a shared love of genre across their respective mediums, and their level of collaboration here has a rare depth of symbiosis that places the score as a primary character in the film.


Daniel Lopatin (b. 1982) aka Oneohtrix Point Never is a musician, composer, Mercury Prizenominated producer, and label founder of Software Recording Company living and working in Brooklyn, New York. He has released numerous EPs and full-length albums – most recently the critically acclaimed Garden of Delete (2015) on Warp Records. The Hammer Museum in Los Angeles organized a film exhibition Ecco: The Videos of Oneohtrix Point Never and Related Works around his work (2016). His latest original film score for Good Time (dir. Josh and Benny Safdie) premiered in official competition at Cannes for which he won the coveted Soundtrack Award (2017).

He has been commissioned by museums, organisations and festivals such as Frieze Projects New York (2017); Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (2016); Holland Festival (2014); Tate Britain, London and MoMA PS1, New York (both 2013); Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Washington, D.C., and Saatchi & Saatchi, London (both 2012); and The Museum of Modern Art, New York (2011). His film scores include Good Time (2017), Partisan (2015), and Bling Ring (2013) and his production credits include Anohni, FKA Twigs, and Nine Inch Nails among others.

Oneohtrix Point Never
Good Time Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

1.Good Time
2. Bail Bonds
3. 6th Floor
4. Hospital Escape / Access-A-Ride
5. Ray Wakes Up
6. Entry To White Castle
7. Flashback
8. Adventurers
9. Romance Apocalypse
10. The Acid Hits
11. Leaving The Park
12. Connie
13. The Pure and the Damned (feat. Iggy Pop)


Featured Photo Credit : Felipe Gabriel

« »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

No videos

Latest Members

Online Members