Dude York announces Christmas album, Halftime for the Holidays, watch video for “Break Up Holiday”

Dude York announces Christmas album, Halftime for the Holidays

Watch video for “Break Up Holiday”

It finally happened: Hardly Art is attempting their hand at the lucrative holiday album racket. More catchy than cynical, however, Dude York‘s Halftime for the Holidays out Friday, November 24via Inertia Music, defies any knee-jerk categorisation as a mere year-end cash-grab. As evidenced by spunky original “Break Up Holiday” – for which the new music video premiered today on Stereogum – Dude York still have a lot on their minds. Plus, they really like the holidays.

Halftime for the Holidays is so named for its abundance of arena-ready guitar solos and includes seven Dude York originals along with a punked-up rendition of “Silent Night” and “Takin’ Care of Christmas” (yup).

The Christmas album follows the release of Sincerely earlier this year in February.  Longtime Sleater-Kinney and Bikini Kill producer John Goodmanson and JR Slayer (aka The Blood Brothers’ Cody Votolato) helped Dude York craft a record that captured the energy of their live show while finding new ways to expand upon its ideas.

Dude York
Halftime for the Holidays

1. Break Up Holiday
2. Hollywood Holiday
3. The Greatest Gift Is You
4. My Favorite Part (Of This Time of Year)
5. Long Distance Christmas
6. Takin’ Care of Christmas
7. Jingle Bells Rock
8. True Meaning
9. Silent Night

Halftime for the Holidays by Dude York is out Friday, November 24
on Hardly Art via Inertia Music
Pre-order here:  


« »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar